Partner Institutes

Information about the VeWA Partner Institutes

Goethe University Frankfurt

The Goethe University Frankfurt was founded in 1914 as a unique ‘citizens’ university’, financed by wealthy citizens in Frankfurt, Germany. Named in 1932 after one of the city’s most famous natives, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, today the university has over 48,000 students.

University History
Life in Frankfurt

Institute for Geosciences
The Institute for Geosciences is based at Goethe University’s Riedberg Campus, situated 10 km North of Frankfurt City Centre. Campus Riedberg is home to the natural sciences at Goethe University — geo-sciences/geography, physics, biochemistry, chemistry, pharmacy, and biology. Modern buildings offer state-of-the-art facilities and laboratories. The Otto Stern Center forms the heart and center of the campus, providing not only a library and lecture hall center, but a place for students and faculty to gather.

Faculty of Geosciences, Goethe University of Frankfurt
Institute for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences, Goethe University of Frankfurt


Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung
(Senckenberg Society for Nature Research)

The Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung – Leibniz Institution for Biodiversity and Earth System Research is a member of the Leibniz Association with headquarters in Frankfurt am Main. With more than 900 employees Senckenberg runs research institutes and museums across Germany, including the Senckenberg Natural History Museum Frankfurt.
The Senckenberg Research Institute and Natural History Museum Frankfurt and The Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre are both located close to Frankfurt city centre.

Further information about Senckenberg
Facilities at the Senckenberg Biodiversity and Climate Research Centre